Anesthesiologist Assistant is The Premier Employment-Solutions website for Anesthesia Professionals and Hiring Companies !

HomeMy ProfileSearch JobsPost Profile/CVPost JobsResources
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Questions and thoughts from a PA considering AA

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ventana View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ventana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Questions and thoughts from a PA considering AA
    Posted: 29 Jan 2011 at 9:04am
Hello all   -  few questions

One:

I am a Physician Assistant and looking for a change - briefly this is my background (just have not found my niche)

PA since 2002 - worked in primary care 5yrs , interventional radiology 2 yrs (did a whole bunch of moderate sedation), chronic pain 1yr(opiate management), ER 1yr, and now back to primary care.

My PA degree is an AS but then I want back and got my MS through the distance program at Nebraska.  As well have a BS in Business and an MBA(both before PA school).  Have graduated with honors in MBA, PA and MS school (don't remember the grades but something like 3.9 and top 10%).  Have not taken GRE in years - can I waive out of it?

Do I have a good chance at gaining admission?  I want to work in Vermont (only one AA practices in the whole state!)

TWO: 
I have read there is only about 40 PA/AA's out there - it seems like I would be perfectly situated with this combination of degrees in that I can do anything out side the OR with the PA degree and almost anything inside the OR with the AA???  (I have already done sedation and intubations for work)

Three: